Doc menu

B. Background


There are 10 Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in England offering pre-registration therapeutic radiography education; Birmingham City University, City University London, University of Hertfordshire, Kingston and St Georges University of London, Liverpool University, London South Bank University, Portsmouth University, Sheffield Hallam University, University Campus Suffolk and the University of the West of England.


The total number of education commissions for 2011/12 was reported as 364, with the range being 20 – 65 per year.  All education providers offer a 3 year, full time BSc (Hons), three offer a 2 year Postgraduate Diploma and one offers a 3 year MSc programme. Successful completion of a programme’s academic and practice requirements confers eligibility for registration as a therapeutic radiographer with the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC).


There are 50 providers of radiotherapy services on 58 sites in England. The number of radiotherapy centres providing recurring placements was reported to be 50 and this is the sample on which the project findings are based. This figure includes some placements that are shared by two HEIs. There is a small number of centres providing non-recurring or occasional placements and a growing number of independent sector providers that do not take students at the present time.

Content tools

Accessibility controls

Text size