Section menu

You are here

College Board of Trustees

The trustees meet in March, May, September and December each year.

The current UK Council nominated trustees are: 

Phil Cosson

Claire Donaldson

Gill Hodges

Chris Kalinka

Karen Smith

Gareth Thomas

Sue Webb

The Council nominated trustees communicate information and views relating to the Society, as well as the membership, disciplines, professions and practices of the Society and its members relevant to the business of the College Board of Trustees.

The President of the Society, currently Sue Webb, is also President of the College and is a trustee during the presidential year.

The appointed trustees are:

Sandie Mathers (Chairperson)

Derek Adrian-Harris

Stephen Davies

Julie Jones

Charles McCaffrey

Alison Vinall

Ian Wolstencroft

The appointed trustees each serve a term of five years and are drawn from the educational, financial, business, legal, medical and scientific sectors.

Each person appointed as a trustee by UK Council of the Society must resign the seat if required to do so by Council but otherwise may hold the seat for a period not exceeding five years.

In addition, there are observers to the Board including a patient representative drawn from the College Patient and Public Liaison Group

The latest approved minutes of the College Board of Trustees.


Sandie Mathers

Sandie held a dual post as a clinical radiographer and a research radiographer and she is a former Research Fellow. Early research focussed on radiographer role development, but subsequent projects assessed patients’ knowledge of scanning techniques, the effectiveness of radiology patient information, and patient centred outcome measures used in radiology. Later studies informed the development of the most recent Standards of Imaging Children.

Sandie is a Past President of the SCoR and is a former UK Council member for Scotland. She was a founder and then board member of the European Federation of Radiographer Societies (EFRS) and a UK Council representative on the Council of the International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists (ISRRT).

Derek Adrian-Harris

Derek introduced the first radiography degree course in the UK at the University of Portsmouth. As well as being a radiographer (now retired), Derek was also a commissioned officer in the Territorial Army and a Justice of the Peace.

Following qualification, Derek practised as a diagnostic radiographer before taking up a post as lecturer and then senior lecturer. He became principal at Portsmouth and his work was widely published in peer-review and other journals. Derek was presented with the Society’s Gold Medal in 2010 as part of the organisation’s 90th anniversary celebrations.

Stephen Davies

Stephen practiced as a consultant radiologist in the fields of musculoskeletal and emergency radiology for 26 years (1991-2016). He is now Medical Director at Medica Group.

Stephen was previously President of the British Institute of Radiology, the UK Radiology Congress President for 2008 and 2009, Associate Dean and Head of Radiology School in Wales, and Quality Assurance Lead for Education for the Clinical Radiology Faculty at the Royal College of Radiologists. He was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal by The British Institute of Radiology.

Julie Jones

Julie has been a CBoT trustee since June 2015 and she started an employment law consultancy, Starford Ltd in 2016 because she wanted to “work more closely with my clients, genuinely becoming part of their in-house team, without them worrying about exorbitant legal fees.”

As well as being a lawyer, Julie is also a qualified employment and workplace mediator and she says she enjoys enabling people to “find solutions to seemingly intractable issues.”

Chris Kalinka

Chris has worked in clinical radiography in most modalities, including nuclear medicine, CT and interventional. He has more than 30 years of radiography experience in four different organisations in Wales and has been a professional lead for 17 years. 

Chris says, “In my role as a College trustee I want to to influence the professional policy, guidance and research aspects of the profession. I believe the college has a vital role in radiography education and professional development and would encourage all SCoR members to participate actively in our professional body.”

Chris is SCoR vice-president for 2018-19.

Charlie McCaffrey

An electronic engineer, Charlie joined Kodak and progressed through various roles in the company’s health group and led the transition to set-up Carestream Health UK. He is now Managing Director UK & Ireland and Cluster Manager - Northern Europe.

Charlie has worked with and in x-ray departments for more than 31 years and has led Carestream’s transition from film based imaging to digital technology. He is an Executive Member and Past-Chairman of the Trade Association for X-Ray Equipment Manufacturers in the UK (AXREM) and has served on the Radiology & Oncology Conferences Boards. He became a trustee of the British Institute of Radiology in 2010 and was awarded a Fellowship of the BIR in 2014.

Karen Smith

Qualified as a therapeutic radiographer, Karen worked as part of the senior team in Hull and was involved with the cancer survivorship agenda, recognising the challenges faced by patients living with and beyond cancer.

Currently the Radiotherapy Manager at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals, Karen is a foundation trust staff governor. For more than 30 years Karen has had a variety of roles with the Society in the Yorkshire and North Trent Region, as well as nationally. She was SCoR President in 2014/15 and chair of UK Council the following year.

Alison Vinall

Alison is Head of Radiotherapy Physics at the Norfolk and Norwich University NHS Foundation Trust. During that time she has overseen the installation of a new £20m radiotherapy department. The department is having a second refurbishment with a further £28m investment and expansion to six linacs.

She is currently Vice-Chair of the Professional Conduct Committee of the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (IPEM) and she also sits on the Radiotherapy Physics Professional Standards Committee.

Sue Webb

Before beginning her career as a radiographer, Sue had worked in a bank, had two children and then worked in a nursery school for eight years. She lost her husband to cancer and this inspired her to study to be a radiographer.

She has worked at Broomfield Hospital, Chelmsford since graduating, working in all fields of diagnostic radiography and now specialising in CT and colonography. Sue was elected to the SCoR’s UK council in 2013 and is the current President. She says she is passionate about raising the profile of the profession with the public.

Ian Wolstencroft

Ian worked in local government finance until 1973 and qualified as a member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance Accountancy. Following local government reorganisation, Ian moved to the water industry and was employed in senior finance positions until 1998.

He was later employed by the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine as Financial Controller, a position he held until 2006, when he became their International Services Manager, providing business and administrative support to several European and world bodies involved in medical physics and biological engineering. He retired in 2012.



Content tools

Accessibility controls

Text size